Environmental Labelling

Context

The environmental labellinf forproducts is part of the commitments of the french Grenelle de l’Environnement and is a general principle of consumer information. The Grenelle II law, adopted on July 2010, provides that the consumer must be informed of the environmental impact of goods they buy. The practical modalities of its implementation are currently under discussion within working groups coordinated by ADEME and AFNOR.

CarboneTex is participating in the Working Group No. 5 (GT5) to develop the environmental labelling on textiles and clothing  products from the guide BP X30-323. This guide provides a set of best practices to harmonize the methods of preparation of the display of the environmental labelling of products.

What is the environmental display?

What is the Environmental Labelling for products ?

According to an Eurobarometer survey, 75% of Europeans say they are ready to buy green products even if they are more expensive. For that, it’s also necessary that the consumer has a reliable and easily understandable for him to identify environmentally responsible products. Thus the goal sought by the environmental labelling.

The consumer will, after 2012, be informed of the carbon content and other environmental impacts attributable to “product & packaging” during their life cycle. Specifically, for each product and packaging, it will indicate their carbon footprint and any other pertinent information for the consumer.

For textile products, must indicate :

  • greenhouse gases emissions (CO2)
  • water consumption
  • water eutrophication

Currently in France, the environmental labelling is in an experimental phase until July 2012. Generalization will be after that date. The implementation modalities will be defined by decree for each product category.

Since 2009, large retailers such as Auchan and Casino are already experimenting with the environmental labelling of their products.

CarboneTex is participating in the work on textiles and garments, and is therefore well placed to assist you in implementing the environmental labelling for your products. Take the opportunity to view this as a competitive factor for your products.

Then contact us

Affichage Environnemental

Le contexte

L’affichage environnemental des produits de grande consommation fait partie des engagements du Grenelle Environnement et pose un principe général d’information du consommateur. La loi Grenelle II, adoptée le 12 juillet 2010, prévoit notamment que le consommateur doit être informé de l’impact environnemental des biens de consommation qu’il achète. Les modalités pratiques de sa mise en oeuvre sont actuellement en discussion au sein de groupes de travail coordonnés par l’ADEME et l’AFNOR.

CarboneTex participe au groupe de travail n°5 (GT5) pour élaborer l’affichage environnemental des produits textiles et d’habillement, à partir du guide BP X30-323. Ce guide propose un ensemble de bonnes pratiques destinées à harmoniser les méthodes d’élaboration de l’affichage de l’impact environnemental des produits.

Qu’est-ce que l’Affichage Environnemental ?

Selon une enquête Eurobaromètre, 75% des européens se disent prêt à acheter des produits écologiques même s’ils sont plus cher. Encore faut-il que le consommateur dispose d’une information fiable et facilement compréhensible lui permettant d’identifier les produits éco-responsables. C’est ainsi l’objectif recherché par l’affichage environnemental.

Le consommateur devra, à compter de 2012, être informé du contenu en équivalent carbone et des autres impacts environnementaux imputables au couple produit/emballage durant leur cycle de vie. Plus précisément, pour chaque produit et emballage, il faudra indiquer leur coût carbone ainsi que toute autre information pertinente pour le consommateur.

Pour les produits textiles, il s’agit d’indiquer :

  • les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (CO2)
  • la consommation en eau
  • l’eutrophisation de l’eau

Aujourd’hui, l’affichage environnemental est dans une phase d’expérimentation jusqu’en juillet 2012. La généralisation du dispositif interviendra après cette date. Les modalités d’application seront définies par décret pour chaque catégorie de produit.

Depuis 2009, de grands distributeurs comme Auchan et Casino expérimentent déjà l’affichage environnemental de leurs produits.

CarboneTex participe aux travaux sur les produits Textile/Habillement, et est donc bien placé pour vous accompagner dans la mise en place de l’affichage environnemental de vos produits. Saisissez l’opportunité de cet affichage comme un facteur de compétitivité pour vos produits.

Alors contactez-nous